My Top Theology Reads of 2010

29 11 2010

I’ve done a lot less reading this year for obvious reasons. My coursework load was greater than previous years and I had a new job at the start of the year which left precious little time for me to read. I also resolved to spend more of my free time with my wife. But I did get some reading done.

Here are the books I enjoyed in 2010 (in no particular order):

N.T. Wright – Justification – God’s plan, Paul’s vision –  This was the kind of book Piper should have written. One of the most insightful books I’ve ever read Paul – even if you disagree with Wright this needs to be on your reading list. If you ignore it you will miss a huge amount of what is going on in current scholarship.  
Andy Crouch – Culture Making – The only way to change culture is to make more of it. Critiqing, Copying, or Avoiding culture just don’t do anything significant. Crouch believes we are called to be creators of culture. This has a tonne of implications for every area of ministry. Highly reccomended.

Charles Colson – God and Government (formerly Kingdoms in Conflict) – Interesting look at the role of Politics and Faith. Probably a more heated debate in the USA than in NZ but still very interesting. A little dated but had a great section on how the Church in Germany was co-opted and controlled by the state during the Nazi Regime.

Cornelius Plantinga – Not the way it’s supposed to Be (A breviary of Sin) – This book started out a little badly but got really good towards the end. I found myself having to repent at almost every page and very grateful for God’s grace. Very necessary to remind ourselves of Sin because our culture is so good at claiming it doesn’t exist.

Michael Frost & Alan Hirsch – The Shaping of things to come – A radical new way of doing Church. I don’t always agree with him – he basically writes off the attractional model of Church which I don’t agree with. Both attractional and incarnational have value. I loved the example of a Church in England which has Celebration services once a month where the whole Church gathers, but every other sunday people meet in sattelite groups. Provocative and Edgy but well worth reading even if you disagree with his conclusions.

Wayne Grudem et al – Are miraculous gifts for today? 4 Views – Glad to read a Cessationist view from someone who wasn’t a closed minded dispensationalist follow B.B. Warfield’s false miracles view. Sam Storm’s point that Pentecost was less of a fulfillment of prophecy and more of something innaugural was intriguing. A great introduction to the debate. FYI – I am a continuationist.

Gordon Fee – 1 Corinthians – Best text on 1 Corinthians to date. Used it for my paper on 1 Corinthians. Hard to beat and hard to fault. Fee’s work is always excellent.

David Garland – 1 Corinthians – The BECNT series is more up to date than the NICNT in most cases. Garland had a knack for saying things you’d want to quote in sermons or essays. He was to the point but not brief. His exegesis was fantastic!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

